Follow us
Publications Commentary Research People Events News Resources and Videos About IFS
Home About the IFS IFS announcements IFS co-director Imran Rasul awarded prestigious Yrjö Jahnsson Award

IFS co-director Imran Rasul awarded prestigious Yrjö Jahnsson Award


Imran RasulIFS researcher and co-director of the ESRC Centre for Public Policy (CPP) at IFS, Imran Rasul, has been awarded the prestigious Yrjö Jahnsson prize for his work on the role of social relationships in economics. Imran, who is also a professor at University College London, receives the 2019 award jointly with Oriana Bandiera (London School of Economics).

The award was previously given to Richard Blundell, now director of CPP, in 1995. This was for his work in microeconometrics and the analysis of labour supply, welfare reform and consumer behaviour. The award is selected by the European Economic Association (EEA) and the Yrjö Jahnsson Foundation. Oriana and Imran will be presented with their award during the annual EEA Congress to be held in Manchester in August 2019.

Find out more at the European Economic Association website here.

Find out more

Newspaper article
Imran Rasul and Oriana Bandiera share the 2019 Yrjo Jahnsson award - for work that's careful, empirical, relevant, robust and on rather different issues to those you might expect.